Ignorance is no longer a viable excuse 

Standard

  
Part of me wants to be really mad at ignorant people, but I’m not anymore; I pity them. I pity them for their lack of understanding, compassion and their inability to not judge people who are suffering something they could never comprehend. To you people I say, have a nice life and you’re not welcome in mine any longer. I will not suffer fools and no one else should either.

I’ve heard many a stupid comment of late on the point of mental illnesses and I’m at the point where there is just no reason in causing myself the pain of trying to explain something that is very real. You go ahead and be stupid elsewhere.. Like a volcano pit or traffic. 

  
I see the misconceptions on a daily basis and I see people fighting internal battles on a daily basis. No one is asking for sympathy or hand outs, but I don’t think it is too much to expect a level of understanding, respect and consideration. 

I’m thankful that I was raised to be compassionate towards others no matter what their position, title or struggle in life. I was brought up in a home where my parents took us with to lions events where they help people of all challenges in life. Growing up I have seen mentally disabled, physically disabled, underprivileged, the old neglected and at the same time I saw the gratitude on their faces when they were shown respect and treated with the kindness they deserve.

I accept that not everyone has been that fortunate and that’s why I pity those who just don’t get it. They are the ones who belong in therapy figuring out why they’re such an asshole and why they think they’re better than others. I also accept that some people are completely blinded by their own self-importance to notice anything beyond their nose. Perfect? Unless someone is a narcissist know where certain labels are applicable and where they are just plain dumb. 

I suppose when it comes down to it there is only one thing to say about it all; If you want to have an opinion at least make it an educated one. 

  

Leave a Reply

