Healthy vs unhealthy vs WHY

Standard

It is all good and well to know that one food is healthy while another is not, but don’t people wonder why the unhealthy food is not good for them? Well, I started reading this book It Starts With Food and every single page I am blown away. I remember learning everything about digestion, enzymes and hormones at school, but this is the application of bodily functions in to our every day lives and what could be more important than that? The other aspect that I love is that it is you centric. I am seven chapters in and I cannot wait to finish reading this book.

I think two of the most important things I have learnt so far is that there are so many empty calorie foods floating around and that no matter how evolved technology is our bodies still respond to food the same way the human body always has. We might be able to introduce certain hormones to help certain bodily processes along, but it is probably our unintentional poor diet that has led to those conditions in the first place.

I know that there are many people who shrug and think to themselves: I don’t give a rats ass about what I eat and I want to enjoy life. That’s also fine. If you don’t want to make the effort to learn more about all those unhealthy things you’re ingesting on a daily basis and what it is really doing to you – and I am talking long-term here effects – then so be it. We are not all the same and I think the big thing is that ignorance is bliss.

ME

7 responses »

  1. I can’t agree more. The amount of refined/processed junk we put into our bodies is astounding. I have given up completely on soft drinks and white bread. But thanks for the tip on the book, will definitely try and get my hands on it.

Leave a Reply

