We all want attention…

Standard

You can be the sweetest, juiciest peach in the world and there's still going to be someone ho hates peaches

I guess when I say ‘attention’ what I really mean is that we all want approval. I have seen this quote being posted on numerous social media platforms lately and it really puts things in to perspective so I have to give a round of applause to Dita Von Teese for explaining that you cannot expect every single person on the planet to like you so articulately. I just love the analogy and every time I read it I smile, because it simplifies something that causes so many people out there to put themselves down for not being adored by every single person they meet. Yes, there are certain people who seem to grab more attention than others, but the point of this analogy is that you should not be comparing yourself to everyone else.

Now being female I am, of course, referring to my gender throughout this post. I know being secure with yourself is not something that just happens over night and we tend to go through good patches and rough patches. For some reason us females tend to crave approval and attention on a consistent basis. As the other half it probably becomes seriously exhausting to have to put up with your partners insecurities, but I cannot think of anyone I know who is not insecure in some way. Obviously, if that is a very strong quality in someone it can become annoying, because at some point you have to accept that you are who you are and you have to learn to love yourself.

I think that whenever I am feeling down I will try to remind myself of this! It is a none-cheesy way of reminding yourself that perfection does not actually exist and that there is no point in putting pressure on yourself to be “perfect” and fit in to some imaginary mould.

ME

Leave a Reply

