Birthday Cake!

Standard

This is something that comes up from time to time and after it was mentioned thew other day I felt compelled to say my little say about it. Why is it people expect the birthday girl or boy to supply cake on their birthday? Surely if it is your birthday it is up to other people to make an effort to buy you cake to celebrate your birthday? Now, please take this with a pinch of salt, because I am a birthday brat. As far as I am concerned the only thing you should expect from someone on their birthday is an invitation to join them and celebrate. People do not always realize how underpaid many of their colleagues are and the cost of making sure each person gets a piece of bloody cake can become rather expensive. If you work for a small company where they are 10 people  or less then I think it is fine to expect the birthday boy or girl to supply cake, any more and I think the company should supply the cake!

I have heard of other companies who buy the cake for their employees birthdays. When it starts getting expensive they buy cake once a month to celebrate all the birthdays in the office. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that. You will find people who don’t even give you a damn birthday card, but they expect you to feed their faces with cake? A card from the office does not count, because those are scheduled to be given out in any case. At the same time, I am sure not everyone gets on with absolutely everybody in their office so why should you be compelled to give people who you do not like cake just because it is your birthday? As I said before, I am a birthday brat and I believe your birthday is the one day you can be selfish and expect everyone else to make an effort for you. You really only get one day a year so you might as well milk it!

ME

6 responses »

  1. I’ll say this once… How I feel:
    If I mean SO much to you, on my birthday you’ll make the effort to call OR sms – you DO NOT send me an effing fb message.
    I appreciate fb messages and they DO make me feel special but my birthdays is probably the only time I actually open my eyes to see how much I mean to others.
    If I care about someone, I send many messages on their birthday. I’ll go see them or sms or call! So I expect the same. Non negotiable.

Leave a Reply

