Time Management…

Standard

Have you ever wondered how much time you waste every day? I hear many people saying things like ‘I don’t have the time to get everything done’ and I am no exception. Procrastination along with poor time management seem to be the big, bad culprits. When I was asked ‘How many hours a day do you spend watching TV’ I rounded it off to about 2 hours a day. When you get home in the evening and you want to unwind a little you switch on the TV and get sucked in that world. If you work that out it becomes 14 hours a week. On average that is about 60 hours a month. What about those of us who spend more time watching TV over the weekends! Imagine what you could be doing with that time instead of vegging out allowing your mind to turn to mulch? Of course it is nice to relax a little every now and again and allow your mind to switch off, but am I the only one who is more than a little freaked out by that? By the end of the year you could accumulate 720 hours of watching TV which works out to 30 days! Are my calculations correct here?!?!?! SHOCK AND HORROR! I have just worked it out 4 times and I keep coming to the same answer.

Do yourself a favor and write out a table of how much time you spend doing what each day. Work hour to hour and do not include things like brushing your teeth or going to the bathroom. When I was told about it I said I am not the kind of person who maps out my days, but now I see it may not be a bad idea to do that. Another thing you should try to do everyday is something that makes you happy. Whether that is sitting on a bench outside eating your lunch, calling a friend and having a catch-up chat, getting a coffee from a coffee place you like or even just reading a few pages from a book you enjoy; find time for you! People always leave resolutions for Mondays New Years, but I think if you want to seriously make a change then why leave it New Years when you can change now? A new week and a new year are not going help you change things. Map out your day and work out how much time you waste doing silly things and if you want to do things differently then start changing things today.

It would be interesting to find out what everyone comes up with so feel free to post a comment and share!

ME

3 responses »

  1. yes look, that’s scary when you start working out things that way. We do things as time comes and how you feel like, but thinking of it, there’s plenty other stuff just waiting to be done. I take for instance people who has moved into a new house and after a year there is still boxes full of stuff sitting in the garage…. but the question I ask myself, will I keep to that schedule after settings it up, most probably not but it all comes down to discipline me think 🙂

    • Very true… we have to keep reminding ourselves that we have things to do and that if we plan properly we can get it done. I like planning, but I also like spontaneity. I think if boxes have been in a garage for a year you might as well have a garage sale because you don’t need the stuff! I have started de-cluttering my life and it feels good to get rid of the junk!

  2. Thank God I only watch 4 hours of TV a week. Maybe 5 if there’s good stuff on I haven’t seen.
    I prefer to be active (do something, make something, nap, read, clean) than veg in front of the tv.

Leave a Reply

