Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery…?

Standard

Really? Imitation is REALLY the SINCEREST form of flattery…? Maybe it is just plain maddening and not actually sincere at all. How can it be flattering when you have to constantly chop and change your image because people think it is flattering to imitate everything you do or say or wear? That saying was definitely made up by the person doing all the imitating, because you ask any person who has people trying to imitate their image the whole time and I am pretty sure they will tell you how frustrating it can get. Also, I don’t see why you should not make your friends feel bad for copying you? I understand having a similar style to someone and some times you may accidentally buy something your friend already has and that is perfectly understandable, but deliberately going out of your way to rip off your friends image is just not on! You basically become a knock-off of your friend. That is correct, all you are is a poor substitute for the real thing.

I know some people do not care if their friends have the same things as them, but it is a pet peeve of mine and I am sure I am not the only one who gets annoyed by that. It is one thing when you dress up for a party together and you decide to wear the same outfit, but when you go behind someone’s back it is a big NO NO! It makes me incredibly angry for some reason and although I have tried to ‘get over it’ I just cannot. If you want to imitate a celebrities style then by all means go nuts, because the possibility of ever running in to that person is slim. I can also say that using the excuse that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery will not make them any less annoyed with you unless they are dense and actually believe that. I do not know if guys suffer from this at all? Sometimes imitation can even follow on to people you like. Your little imitator takes it to the next level and will go after the same people who you would or if you mention that you think someone is attractive they suddenly target that person. I am sure by phrasing it that way more people will understand how infuriating it is having someone who copies you?

There is no easy way to spot these people and there are more of them than you think! Your imitator can also have their own imitator so the chain can extend quite far. To all the imitator’s you may think you have everyone fooled and if the person you are imitating is nice enough they will not bother with you, but once in a while you may push it too far, for example go for someone who they really like, and that may just be the end of you. I am sure imitator’s have no trouble finding and latching on to the next person. Am I the only who dislikes it when people do that? Are there people out there who actually believe that ‘Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery?’

ME

2 responses »

  1. Firstly be yourself dammit! Why be a second-rate version of SOMEONE else when you could be a first rate version of YOURSELF!
    Secondly, I’ve been there. When I liked sushi, she liked sushi; when I liked belly dancing, she liked it; when I drank wine, she started drinking it… And on I could go. I wouldve liked to be friends with someone else, not myself. I see and get enough of myself thanks!

Leave a Reply

