What’s with men and tomorrow?

Standard

You often hear people reciting “Why do tomorrow what you can do today” or “Procrastination is the art of keeping up with yesterday” or “Tomorrow is often the busiest day of the week” and so forth. There are hundreds of quotes when it comes to procrastinating and the reason for that is because so many people tend to do it and for some reason the biggest culprits of procrastination are men. Let me be as specific as possible before people hurl abuse and assume I am generalizing: Men who are in relationships tend to procrastinate, because there is someone who will do everything for them. Before anyone is seriously offended I am not sucking this out of my thumb. Overall, women tend to be the organizers while men could happily postpone any chore unless it pays them in some way. Sure, we all need motivation to get things done, but surely after you reach a certain age you do not expect people to baby you and coax you with treats to get things done?

The way I look at it is that many men have been pampered by their mothers and when they find themselves in a relationship they continue that behavior, because they are so used to having someone do everything for them. Should we blame the over-attentive, do-anything-for-my-child mothers? Sure, mothers are partly responsible for conditioning their sons to expect that kind of treatment from a woman, but surely once they reach a certain age men have to take responsibility for their own actions. After 18 it is each man for himself and when it comes to a relationship, surely you do not expect your partner to turn in to your mother? The way I look at it is if your partner goes away for a bit and you somehow managed to do all the things you could never ‘manage to fit in to your day’ before then I believe all the excuses that follow are complete nonsense.

Why is it men need to be reminded to take out the trash, do the dishes, change a light bulb or run any errand that may cut in to their couch time? I know from quite a number of people who when it comes to chores or paper work men slack to the point where it becomes pathetic and that can only lead to an argument or a succession of arguments. You see them remembering to do all the things that are important to them, but heaven forbid you expect them to do something that benefits both parties. I do not know if men realize that their behavior is juvenile, frustrating and when you put everything in to context they appear to be big babies who need to be burped and fed at frequent intervals. I welcome the men to disagree, but I know that everything I have mentioned happens and not only in my generation but in every generation. If any women have a means of dealing with this frustrating I know there are many others out there who would be happy to know how to deal with this.

ME

6 responses »

  1. Quote Why is it men need to be reminded to take out the trash, do the dishes, change a light bulb or run any errand that may cut in to their couch time? I know from quite a number of people who when it comes to chores or paper work men slack to the point where it becomes pathetic and that can only lead to an argument or a succession of arguments. You see them remembering to do all the things that are important to them, but heaven forbid you expect them to do something that benefits both parties Unquote

    This is so true. Excactly like my dad and it drives my Mom crazy !

  2. What?! I thought it was the other way around LOL… or maybe it was just the person my ex was… but anyway, I think if you had a Mom like mine, you’ll get klap’ped & kicked at the same time for not doing the things your supposed to.

  3. I wait a few weeks before G brought me 2 plugs home… Still waiting for the light for the oven.
    That is all! Lol
    And unless I constantly remind him, he WON’T remember

Leave a Reply

