I QUIT!

Standard

After sending my e-mail through yesterday I could breathe a sigh of relief. To be fair I am juggling quite a number of things and I reached a point where it was time to decide which sucked the most. I do not know how other people feel out there when they think it is time to say good-bye and move on to the next thing, but it is not an easy thing for me to do. The funny thing is I do not think many companies could give a flying f…. what you do, because if they need to get rid of you they will do it without thinking twice. You may think you are indispensable and a great asset to the company, but most of the time you are just more money they could save. Of course you should not just wake up one day and decide ‘Oh, I feel like quitting. ‘ It is something you have to think about. The reason I had to say good-bye was because I could no longer stand the female hormones…! How long can you sit while an inconsiderate colleague talks to their computer, the telephone and the printer all day long? And if you move wrong you are attacked…? I want to be happy wherever I work even if it is just one day a week.

I think most of us are not prepared for what lies ahead in the working world. We are ignorant and all we think about is getting paid at the end of the month. I totally understand why some people spend their whole lives absolutely miserable, stuck in a job that destroys their soul bit by bit until they are a mere shadow of the person they used to be. Once you have responsibilities you cannot do things just for you anymore. I also understand why people who love their jobs are willing to work long hours. You know sometimes you think you are meant to do something and you work towards it, because it’s what you want and you think it will make you happy. Other times you stumble upon something you never thought was for you, but you are actually good at it. Maybe I am being a drama queen, but when you are unhappy you start affecting the people nearest and dearest to you.

To all the people who are too scared to go after what you want to do you should write down a list of achievable goals and give yourself a realistic time frame to achieve those goals. If you are going to follow your dreams the one bit of advice I can give you is to persevere! I say it and I know it’s not easy because here I am persevering every day, but this time around I will not give up! How does everyone feel about quitting???

ME

4 responses »

  1. I resigned a month ago and I’m joining a new company in July. I’m so excited I can hardly contain myself. It was an opportunity pointed out by a friend that she thought just might be up my alley – and she couldn’t have been more right. I’m so grateful! I have a few jitters as I will have more responsibilities, but it’s about time to move up & on and I see a bright future 😀 Sometimes you just have to make that move or make a leap.

  2. May sound silly but I believe in doing things you love. Im not one that could get a job to just get money if I’m unhappy.

    I have a diploma in counselling yet I make jewelry for a living. Counselling taught me about myself, life, the world and people, as well as communication but struggling to find a job drew out my enthusiasm to work in that field for money. I won’t want to help someone just to get their money. I’d rather do it part time.

    Sometimes you do just fall into things that you’re just good at and that’s why it is important to grasp everything and try it!

    Quit for yourself to make yourself happier somewhere else. I live once and I’d like to be happy wherever I am.

    Ps today I find out if the job I applied for will be in the pipeline for me…

Leave a Reply

