Marriage is not for everyone…

Standard

It’s a beautiful thing when two people decide to spend the rest of their lives together. My parents have been married for 35 years which is an accomplishment in itself, but that does not mean that marriage is for everyone. Some people should never get married, because being in love with the idea of love is not a solid foundation for future bliss.

Many people have no clue what it takes to be in a good healthy relationship and for that you can blame the media and their parents. Why blame the media? Well, you hear about how easily relationships fall apart owing to irreconcilable difference. What that really stands for is ‘too bloody lazy to try’ and ‘I didn’t realize forever meant forever; I thought it meant until I got gatvol.’ If your partner beats or emotionally abuses you by all means leave them. For the rest, you just never should have gotten married. Why blame the parents? You watch and learn whether they like it or not.

I do not know how I really feel about marriage. It works for some people and not for others. I don’t see the need to get married if you have a good relationship other than for legal reasons. Marriage should not change your relationship and how you and your partner treat each other. How does everyone else feel about marriage? I don’t really care if I never get to wear the white dress. My friends who get married know I will be there to celebrate their day with them… Without a doubt!

Me

3 responses »

  1. Totally agree! Your married in anyway if stay together more than a certain amount of years, according to law. And if you brake up, it’s just easier.

    • Not sure how long you have to be living under the same roof, splitting living expenses for it to be considered a common law marriage.think it’s 6 months but there are loads of legalities involved in it. Still .. I do agree with you.

  2. I have been married, for ten years, and I have been single for longer than that.
    I do not want to get married again, and I don’t want anyone to be forced to be with me simply because the law and convention says that it has to be so. Now, the way to do it, in my mind, is for two people to meet, come to know and love each other and mutually agree and decide that they are going to be together for as long as they are able, to the exclusion of all others.
    Now that may mean that it is for life or it may not, but the point is they mutually agree.
    The problem here is when they do produce offspring, as we humans are wont to do, then who is going to take them with them should it separate.
    I don’t intend to have any more children, to that end I had myself fixed when my twins were born.
    If someone should choose to be with me, then I want it to be because they WANT to be here and not because they are FORCED to be here by some law and societal convention.
    I am single. I will not always be so, or I might be, but that is my choice.
    Love your blog on this.

Leave a Reply

