Paying it forward

Standard

If you have not seen the film I suggest you take it out and watch it. The concept of paying it forward is pretty much when someone does something to help you and then you in turn do something to help others. It does not mean when you help someone else they owe you. I know this will be a crazy concept for some people to grasp, but it is the act of doing something self-less for someone else without expecting anything in return. We are always complaining about how awful and unreliable people are in the world and the only way to make things better is to start with yourself. You may think being self-less is very simple and anyone can do it, but there are many people out there who may do something for someone else, but they will hold it over the other persons head until they feel the favor has been properly reciprocated. I am not perfect and I am not preaching… This was just something I thought of and when I think of how often people have let me down and I have let other people down, I cannot understand how we can all be getting things so wrong?

Stop me if you have heard this before, ‘One good turn deserves another.’ It does not say I do you a favor and then you do me a favor, it says plain and simply if someone does something good for you then you should be encouraged to do something good as well. You know that feeling you get when someone actually follows through on a promise? You feel so happy and you just want to thank the person none stop for doing something that means more to you than they will ever know. Imagine what a difference people could make if they did that more often. This is of course if you are not using someone to get ahead or anything like that. When you become that person it is only a matter of time before people figure you out and then they do not want to do anything for you anymore. We should all really try to be more sincere. You should not expect someone to go out of their way for you just because you would for them. I sometimes have this problem. I tend to go out of my way for my friends and I am kind of offended, but mostly hurt when they do not do the same in return. I would never tell them when I feel like that, because I know it is just me being selfish. Many of us are like that. Try and remember to pay forward is not the same as to pay back. If you do not understand the difference after reading this then ask a friend to hit you over the head… hard.

The best kind of pay it forward is when the person does not ask for help. These days that seems like a big step when people will barely help you if you call them and ask them. Partners, family, friends, acquaintances and strangers, we all need someone to give us a hand at some point in our lives. I think people have actually become afraid to ask for help when they need it. How terrifying is that? No wonder there are so many people in the world who are miserable and suffer in silence, because we make it known that we are so consumed with our own issues we cannot spare a second for anyone else, not even someone close to us. We always tell people they must reach out and ask for help if they need it, but there comes a point where you give up on asking anyone, because you get sick and tired of being disappointed. When did we become complacent with so many empty promises? If you are never willing to go out of your way for someone else how can you expect others to do the same for you?

I am not trying to be emo or anything. I just believe we have lost touch with the part of life that is not all about me, myself and I. We are all so concerned with achieving our own goals, which are good to have, that we forget about others along the way and that cannot be right. Have you been let down by people close to you or anyone who you thought would actually lend a helping hand when they said they would? How does that make you feel and have you ever told them that they have hurt you or upset you? Instead of going out there everyday expecting people to help us maybe we should all try to be less selfish for a change, because when it is your turn to depart think of how you want the people you leave behind to remember you. Someone close me was constantly let down by people and this is dedicated to him.

ME

Leave a Reply

